DC Women’s Voices Theater Festival – Participating Theaters

Washington, DC

Washington, DC

Last week WomenArts did a blog about the 8-week city-wide Women’s Voices Theater Festival in Washington, DC, which is scheduled for September and October 2015.

WomenArts wrote to Arena Stage to obtain a list of the participating theaters.  Thanks to Kirsten Franko, Arena’s Director of Media Relations for sending this fact sheet which is current as of February 14, 2014.  Mention the Women’s Voices Theater Festival on twitter using #womensvoicesfest.

More than 40 D.C.-area theaters will join together to produce
massive eight-week festival of new works by female playwrights in 2015

WHAT: For eight weeks, beginning September 2015, more than 40 D.C.-area theater companies will present world-premiere plays, musicals and adaptations all written by female playwrights, in what is anticipated to be one of the largest collaborations ever to occur of theater companies simultaneously producing original works by female writers. Participating theaters have commissioned local, national and international writers to bring universal perspective to the festival, and each playwright is writing on the subject of her choice.

The Women’s Voices Theater Festival will also include panel discussions featuring groups of participating writers, which will be moderated by artistic directors. Participating theaters will also host talkbacks with their playwrights during the course of the festival.

Unlike some festivals, this initiative has theater companies working together with the single vision of featuring female playwrights. Each theater is producing and ticketing its own events.

WHEN:  Approximately eight weeks in fall 2015;
Beginning with an opening celebration September 14, 2015;
Including special panel discussions: 9/21, 10/5 & 10/19.

WHO: Theaters Currently Participating (listed with Artistic Directors)*

1st Stage – Mark Krikstan
Adventure Theatre – Michael J. Bobbitt
African Continuum Theatre Company – Thembi Duncan
Arcturus Theater Company – Ross Heath
Arena Stage – Molly Smith
Compass Rose Theater – Lucinda Merry-Browne
Discovery Theater – Roberta Gasbarre
dog & pony dc– Rachel Grossman
Doorway Arts Ensemble – Matt Ripa
The Essential Theatre – S. Robert Morgan
Factory 499 – Rick Hammerly
Flying V Theatre – Jason Schlafstein
force/collision – John Moletress
Ford’s Theatre – Paul R. Tetreault
Forum Theatre – Michael Dove
Guillotine Theatre – Catherine Aselford
The Hub Theatre – Helen Pafumi
Imagination Stage – Janet Stanford
The Inkwell – Lee Liebeskind
The Keegan Theatre – Mark A. Rhea
The Kennedy Center – Deborah F. Rutter
The Landless Theatre Company – Andrew Lloyd Baughman
Longacre Lea – Kathleen Akerley
MetroStage – Carolyn Griffin
Molotov Theatre Group – Alex Zavistovich
No Rules Theatre Company – Joshua Morgan
Olney Theatre Center – Jason Loewith
Pinky Swear Productions – Karen Lange & Allyson Harkey
Pointless Theatre – Patti Kalil
Quotidian Theatre Company – Jack Sbarbori
Round House Theatre – Ryan Rilette
Shakespeare Theatre Company – Michael Kahn
Signature Theatre – Eric Schaeffer
Spooky Action Theater – Richard Henrich
Studio Theatre – David Muse
Synetic Theater – Paata Tsikurishvili
Taffety Punk Theatre Company – Marcus Kyd
Theater Alliance – Colin Hovde
Theater J – Rebecca Ende
Unexpected Stage Company – Rachel Stroud-Goodrich
Venus Theatre – Deborah Randall
Wait Don’t Leave Productions – Joanna Castle Miller
Washington Improv Theater – Mark Chalfant
Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company – Howard Shalwitz
Young Playwrights’ Theater – Brigitte Pribnow Moore

Theaters participating with collaborating playwrights*

Adventure Theatre MTC, Karen Zacarías and Debbie Wicks Lapuma
African Continuum Theatre Company, Thembi Duncan
Arcturus Theater Company, Marilyn Austin
Guillotine Theatre, Monique LaForce
The Hub Theatre, Anne M. McCaw
Imagination Stage, Suzan Zeder
The Keegan Theatre, Ursula Rani Sarma and Rosemary Jenkinson
The Landless Theatre Company, Melissa Baughman and Irene Jericho
Longacre Lea, Miranda Rose Hall and Kathleen Akerley
Pinky Swear Productions, Amy Couchoud
Pointless Theatre, Patti Kalil and Mel Bieler
Quotidian Theatre Company, Audrey Cefaly
Shakespeare Theatre Company, Yael Farber
Signature Theatre, Heidi Thomas
Spooky Action Theater, Christine Evans
Theater Alliance, Katherine Clair
Unexpected Stage Company, Jacqueline Goldfinger
Venus Theatre, Claudia Barnett
Wait Don’t Leave Productions, Stephanie Carrie, Joanna Castle Miller, Azie Mira Dungey and Libby Heily
Washington Improv Theater, Women Ensemble
Young Playwrights’ Theater, Multiple YPT Student Playwrights

Additional details regarding programming and participating artists for each company, as well as logistics for ticketing and reservations, to be announced at a later date.

Applications from theaters can be sent to womensvoices@signature-theatre.org. No unsolicited scripts will be accepted and playwrights must be attached to a participating theater.

*Participants are subject to change.